Women's Fresh Perspectives Virtual Event
Women's Fresh Perspectives
Virtual Event
September 1, 2020
Register for free
September 8, 2020
Register for free
September 15, 2020
Register for free
September 22, 2020
Register for free


Women's Fresh Perspectives - Find Balance, Agility, Leadership and Innovation for Your Business in the Face of Change
The Women’s Fresh Perspectives Virtual Event Series is a course of virtual events, developed by and for women in the fresh produce and floral industry.

The four FREE events, spread over four weeks, will be chock full of engaging speakers focused on competency-based themes and timely topics such as balance, agility, leadership and innovation.

In addition to a general session covering the theme of the day, each event will include wellness sessions, social connections and guided workshops intended to lead participants on a deeper dive into the topic covered in the general session.

Register for any of the events to build and strengthen core skills that are important for leaders, while addressing the broader issues that uniquely affect women in business.

September 1, 2020

Time  Event 
10:00 am EDT/7:00 am PDT Wellness Session: Guided Meditation
1:00 pm EDT/10:00 am PDT General Session: Centering Yourself: Replace Overwhelmed and Stressed with CALM

Life and work can be stressful enough without the added concerns of remote working, isolation, added responsibilities for childcare and other caretaking tasks – all combining to create an increasingly difficult juggling act as we try to balance our work and home lives. Centering yourself - the act of finding the YOU amongst all the noise of zoom calls, emails, texts, demanding people, and a growing to-do list - is essential to achieving a sense of calm and peace. Join us with noted author, speaker, business anthropologist, and expert on dealing with the overwhelmed state, Jenean Perelstein, and find out how.

Speaker: Jenean Merkel Perelstein, Sociocultural Anthropologist and Business Strategist

1:40 pm EDT/10:40 PDT Workshop: Take a deeper dive into the general session topic in smaller breakout groups.
4:00 pm EDT/1:00 pm PDT Social Connection

September 8, 2020

Time  Event 
9:30 am EDT/6:30 am PDT Boost Your Immunity – Dr. Li
1:00 pm EDT/10:00 am PDT Social Connection
2:30 pm EDT/11:30 am PDT General Session: The Positive Pivot: Agility in Trying Times

From once-in-a-lifetime pandemics to financial woes that every business can and will face, we all must deal with challenges and find ways to pivot and use them to our advantage. The COVID-19 lockdowns were a perfect example of how a terrible situation had some silver linings - employees became successful telecommuters, managers learned to handle remote teams, and supporting all of that are the technologies that stepped up and made it all possible. In this presentation, hear from women who successfully stepped up, too - rising to the occasion and making tough choices, designing creative solutions, and turning adversity into prosperity.

3:10 pm EDT/12:10 PDT Workshop: Take a deeper dive into the general session topic in smaller breakout groups.

September 15, 2020

Time  Event 
10:00 am EDT/7:00 am PDT Wellness Session: Combat the Zoom Zombie
11:00 am EDT/8:00 am PDT General Session: Leadership Through Change

The mark of a true leader is the ability to deal with change without flinching - inspiring confidence and admiration from her team. Once you've done that, your staff - and your customers - will follow you anywhere. The experience, too, helps you learn and grow as a person as well as in your role as a leader, ready for the changes to come. Join our panel of tested, proven leaders who share their advice, based on real-life experiences dealing with difficult changes, and learn how you, too can weather the next storm and stand strong for your team.

Moderator: Cathy Burns, CEO, Produce Marketing Association

Panelists:
  • Debora Steier, Vice President Floral, Albertsons Companies
  • Laura Himes, Sr. Merchant Manager, Walmart
  • Mayda Sotomayer-Kirk, CEO- Seald Sweet International
11:40 am EDT/8:40 am PDT Workshop: Take a deeper dive into the general session topic in smaller breakout groups.
3:30 pm EDT/12:30 pm PDT Social Connection

September 22, 2020

Time  Event 
10:00 am EDT/7:00 am PDT Wellness Session: Yoga
11:30 am EDT/8:30 am PDT General Session: Innovation in the Face of Change

You've weathered the storm; you've stared adversity in the face and said, "I'm ready!" But did you manage or make a difference? Did you stand strong but miss your chance to make a brilliant move? Change not only presents us with the challenge of surviving it, but a chance to build something new - to innovate. The saying "Necessity is the mother of invention" came from the need to create new things to solve problems - to not just use existing tools with greater determination. Join us for this presentation on recognizing the need for innovation when it presents itself and then learning how to respond to it with fresh ideas and an inventive, creative spirit.

12:10 am EDT/9:10 am PDT Workshop: We will take a deeper dive into the general session topic in smaller breakout groups.
4:30 pm EDT/1:30 pm PDT Social Connection